Yesterday marked the second day of Paris Fashion Week and although storm Ewan from the UK made a brief but impacting appearance, soaking everyone and everywhere as it overthrew rubbish bins and lead to wet-haired celebs in Street Style pics, the clothes were – as they always are in the French capital – simply stunning. (Check out Camille Charrière looking ravishing in a beautiful black and white checked skirt and heeled knee-high boots despite the wet pavement and dull looking weather – I want this outfit!)

As well as the fashion on the streets, the fashion on the catwalks was also breathtaking. Wanda Nylon was one of my favourite shows of the day, as I loved the high waisted trousers paired with shiny high neck sweaters, bra tops or fluffy fur coats. The collection had many beautiful, stand out coats, from a brilliant brown and white cow print version to a fun, bright yellow fur coat paired with an all-white outfit. The houndstooth print and the way some of the outfits were cinched in at the waist, creating a clean and feminine silhouette also appealed to me. However, what stood out the most was the Parisian brand’s use of jewellery, with pendant necklaces seen around the models’ necks and silver badges in their berets.

At a closer look, I discovered that the jewellery pieces are in fact part of a jewellery collaboration collection between Wanda Nylon and the Belgium based label Kim Mee Hye, whose designer, Kimy Gringoire aims to design jewellery that represents honesty, individuality and eclecticism.

The collection includes a single gold earring, rings, necklaces and cuffs featuring coins bearing the faces of three of both brands’ favourite heroines: Nina Simone, Simone de Beauvoir and Malala Yousafzai. The choice of these empowering and inspirational women emphasizes the fact that the jewellery’s aim is to create a strong feminist statement – probably why I love the pieces so much. The talented designer behind Wanda Nylon, Johanna Senyk, told WWD that the two labels also wanted to “make a statement about women using their own money to buy themselves something”, which explains the inspiration behind the gold coins.

I think this jewellery collection stood out for me not only because of its feminist connotations and beautiful design, but also because it reminded me of the gold coin drop earrings I bought from River Island a few years ago, but instead of a famous woman, these earrings’ coins bear the face of some random Greek-like figure. Those earrings cost me £6 – I will have to wait to find out the cost of Wanda Nylon and Kim Mee Hye’s necklaces or rings, but somehow I don’t think I will be able to afford them, no matter how much I like them!